Onde estão as camisetas escritas em português? (Where are all the t-shirts written in Portuguese?)

Nós os britânicos amamos nosso humor e este blog pretende ser realmente divertido. De forma alguma eu gostaria de desagradar quem o ler e espero que você o ache engraçado.

We British love our humour, and this post is really meant to be quite funny. I absolutely do not want to upset anyone who reads it, and I hope you find it funny.

Esta camiseta mostra um dos mais importantes ícones britânicos já feitos. Ele foi criado durante a Segunda Guerra Mundial para encorajar o povo britânico a permanacer positivo enquanto o pais estava sendo bombardeado.

This t-shirt shows one of the most iconic British posters ever made. They were created during World War II to encourage the British people to stay positive while the country was being bombed.

Este ícone captura perfeitamente um dos aspectos da psique britânica, e no passado recente a frase “Keep calm and carry on” (mantenha-se calmo e siga adiante) se tornou famosa ao redor do mundo.

It captures one aspect of the British psyche perfectly, and in the last few years the phrase “Keep calm and carry on” has become famous throughout the world.

Você pode imaginar o povo britânico vestindo esta camiseta escrita em português? Não, eu com certeza não posso. Se ela estivesse escrita em português ela perderia alguma coisa, alguma coisa difícil de definir, mas que captura o espírito dessa frase realmente britânica.

Can you imagine though British people wearing this t-shirt written in Portuguese? No, I certainly can’t. If it were written in Portuguese it would lose a certain something, something hard to define but which captures the spirit of this very British phrase.

Agora que estou morando no Brasil eu escuto muito sobre o design e a criatividade brasileiros. Eu gosto muito de camiseta e a primeria coisa que eu gostaria é de uma escrita em português.

Now that I am living in Brazil I hear a lot about Brazilian design and creativity. I do like t-shirts, and the first thing I wanted was a Brazilian one, written in Portuguese.

Você acredita que mesmo em São Paulo eu posso encontrar uma?

Não!

Do you think, even in São Paulo, I can find one?

No!

Eu tenho que perguntar ao Brasil onde estão as camisetas escritas em português?

I have to ask Brazil, where are all the t-shirts written in Portuguese?

Português é uma lingua maravilhosa, poetica, lirica, fluida, linda. Então é estranho para mim ver todo mundo, eu realmente quero dizer todo mundo, vestindo camisetas escritas em inglês. E, na maior parte das vezes, escritas em um inglês ruim. Muitas das expressões escritas em inglês nessas camisetas não são exatamente “bem escritas” sob a perspectiva de um nativo da lingua inglesa.

Portuguese is a gorgeous language, poetical, lyrical, flowing, beautiful. So it is strange to me to see everyone, and I really do mean everyone, wearing t-shirts written in English. Much of the time not even in good English. Many of the t-shirts are quite cheesy and a little bit embarrassing for me at times.

Eu conversei sobre isso com a minha esposa brasileira e a única solução que encontrei foi desenhar minha própria camiseta escrita em português. O que você acha?

I spoke to my Brazilian wife Maria about this and I have been forced to design my own t-shirt. What do you think?

Para mim parece que frequentemente os brasileiros valorizam muito mais as coisas de fora do país do que do próprio Brasil. Como cantou a banda Titãs:

Um idiota em inglês
É bem melhor do que eu e vocês

It seems to me that Brazilians often seem to value things from outside of Brazil far more than what they have in Brazil. As the band Titãs sang:

Um idiota em inglês
É bem melhor do que eu e vocês

(An idiot in English is better than you and me)

Ok, agora esta é a questão chave que eu gostaria de pontuar:

Se os brasileiros não valorizam a si mesmos e a sua cultura, como podem valorizar seu país e todas as incríveis e maravilhosas coisas que existem nele.

Ok, now here is the point of all this. 

If Brazilians can not value themselves, and their culture, how can they value their country, and all the amazing and wonderful things in it?

Como pode o Brasil se transformar se não começar a realmente apreciar a beleza da língua portuguesa? Como eu disse, tenho ouvido sobre como o Brasil está se tornando mais positivo e dinâmico, mas eu não posso ver isso estampado nas camisetas, um dos mais importantes locais de manifestação criativa dos jovems (na verdade, de toda a população brasileira).

How can Brazil start to transform, unless it really starts to appreciate the beauty of Portuguese? As I said, I keep hearing about how young and dynamic Brazil is becoming, but I can’t see it in the t-shirts, one of the most important canvasses for a creative youth culture (and indeed the whole of Brazil).

Vamos Brasil, onde estão todas as camisetas escritas em português? Se você conhece alguma realmente boa, sinta-se à vontade para inserir um link ou comentário!

So come on Brazil, where are all the t-shirts written in Portuguese? If you know of any good ones, please feel free to add a link in the comment section below!

(Psst – my Brazilian friends do tell me that you can buy t-shirts written in Portuguese, but these are just cheap tat for tourists from souvenir shops. Any cool Brazilian in their right mind wouldn’t be seen dead in one of these).

Update

Since writing this article and talking about this subject with friends, I have since discovered the internet t-shirt site Camiseteria. This is a great site whereby young artists can submit their designs, and if popular be turned into featured products. If customers submit their photographs wearing the t-shirts, they can win promotional points. There are some very high quality graphical designs, and while of course some of these are written in English, I was very glad to see some young Brazilians writing and designing in Portuguese. Brilliant : )

QUERO MEU DINHEIRO DE VOLTA! por Rogério Puhl

We are differently equal

Diferentemente Iguais por Paulo Bruno

14 responses to “Onde estão as camisetas escritas em português? (Where are all the t-shirts written in Portuguese?)

  1. Também me faço essa pergunta. Há camisetas em português somente personalizadas através de alguns sites. Inclusive eu estava pesquisando no google como eu poderia estampar camisetas com poemas brasileiros, pois uma vez comprei uma com um poema lindo de Cecília Meirelles…mas ainda não encontrei …continuarei procurando. Abraços.

  2. Pingback: A slightly deeper look at Storytelling « The Transition of Consciousness·

  3. Pingback: Braziliance! Chaos and Complexity, Philosophy and Flux Through Brazilian Eyes – Reflections from Sustentare « The Transition of Consciousness·

  4. Pingback: Enjoyable t-shirts, some written in Portuguese « The Transition of Consciousness·

  5. Pingback: I’ll wash your mouth out with soap and water – literally « The Transition of Consciousness·

  6. Pingback: Meeting Branco Mello | The Transition of Consciousness·

  7. Pingback: Camisetas Poéticas (Gorgeous poetical t-shirts written in Portuguese) | The Transition of Consciousness·

  8. I absolutely love this article. I am passionate about brazil and have been searching for ways to show others how much I love and admire the culture, so naturally I really wanted clothing with portuguese on it. Brazilians definitely need to learn to value their own country more, its so wonderful and full of beauty.

    • Hi Kate

      Thanks for your comment. When going to a modern shopping centre in Brazil there are simply no t-shirts in Portuguese for me to buy. I found this quite shocking initially but then began to theorise that it was tied up in the really lowmself-esteem there is in Brazil. It isninteresting being in a British-Brazilian marriage as you learn so much. It would be too easy to crIticise and I hope that the article is not seen as that. On this blog I write a lot about Brazil and try and find as many possible things as possible to cover. I have also written two more recent articles about t-shirts in Brazil and am begging to find out where they are being made.

  9. Pingback: A British Look at the Brazilian Absurdist Comedy of Porta dos Fundos | Transition Consciousness·

  10. in brazil there are some good brands that t-shirts in portuguese are their specilaty! Look for osklen and reserva simon!

    • Thanks for the pointer Gustavo. I have found a few guys doing great Portuguese t-shirts, but still in the main shopping centres it’s still t-shirts with brega or cliched English nonsense, like “Great Britain Football Club 1952” etc 🙂

Leave a Reply

