Tragedy in Brazil

Last night at least 232 young adults died in a fire which broke out in a night club in the town of Santa Marina, in the very south of Brazil. The fire started when the band which was playing there set off pyrotechnics, which quickly set the club ablaze. With no fire exits, many died from the toxic fumes and others were trampled on.

My heart goes out to all the families and friends who have lost their loved ones. And my heart also goes to the emergency teams and all those who took part in the desperate attempt to rescue victims.

Photo: g1.globo.com

Photo: g1.globo.com

President Dilma came back from a summit in Chile to comfort victims of the tragedy. It has been heartbreaking to watch the news here, seeing the scenes from last night, and the terrible experiences of families desperate for news.

The tragedy has been reported in the UK, and I have also been reading the wide ranging comments from readers. It is clear to me that many do not understand the complexities of how this could happen, and I would like to correct some of what I see as incorrect conclusions.

I don’t think now is the time though. I am here in Brazil and I absolutely feel that collectively we can improve Brazil, we can have a positive impact together in making things better. That post will wait for another day. Until then I think all we can do is support all those affected, and when the time is right, start to take positive action that something like this may never happen again.

Leave a Reply

