Some notes on my artwork

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Every so often I get asked about my artwork, and this piece below, particularly because not only is it on my blog, it is also on my business card.

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

The way the artwork is produced is that I take photos of nature, such as trees, waterfalls, flowers, leaves, the sky, rocks, fire, anything with an interesting texture. I then just mix the photo up, and the most incredible patterns emerge. Take a look at these transformations:

A leaf I found on the ground in a forest in Germany:

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

A tree in a cemetery in Betws-y-Coed:

Betws-y-Coed

Betws-y-Coed

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Pistyll Rhaeadr is the location of Wale’s tallest waterfall. This is a photo of two smaller cascades which flow at the top of the fall, before the water makes it huge drop.

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

This picture of water flowing over a large stone at the bottom of Aber Falls, near Llanfairfechan in North Wales became the image which you see on Maria’s Transition Happiness blog.

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

And finally, the top of Dinas Emrys, a hillock in Snowdonia, said to be the place of legend where the young Merlin had a vision of two dragons fighting, becomes a mystical landscape.

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

Photo: Simon Robinson

I hope you enjoyed these pieces of art.

3 responses to “Some notes on my artwork

  1. Give us a Midwinter scene, Simon. Maybe some holly and berries and snow? Yes… Snow will be tricky where you are. Just take photos inside the freezer.

    • I have changed from PC to Mac and the software I used was for PC. I’ll try and investigate what is available for Mac. Brazil I think is idea for creating this art as it is so rich and varied in nature, and yes, in the very south in winter there is sometimes snow!

  2. I like the kaleidoscope effects I must say.

    I think you will find that you can go to your wordpress dashboard and enable snow until the 4th January! (Use Settings/General)

Leave a Reply

