A Spectacular Surprise in London

You may have seen that Maria and I recently returned to the Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery in Glasgow (see Return to the Kelvingrove). I was particularly looking forward to seeing once more a very spectacular painting The Druids: Bringing in the Mistletoe. This for me is one of the most spectacular paintings I have seen, and last year I published this photographic study of the painting – Anatomy of a painting: The Druids – Bringing in the Mistletoe.

Druids

Photo: Maria Moraes Robinson

I am not too sure why, but in the photo above, the painting looks a little smaller than it actually is in real life. And of course there is absolutely no comparison between the paintings colours and a photograph of the painting.

So you can imagine my disappointment to be told at the Kelvingrove that the painting was on loan to the gallery in Sweden.

IMG_4525

Photo: Maria Moraes Robinson

Maria and I are leaving the UK today to return to Brazil. We had one final day in London yesterday, and of all the things we could have done, we decided to visit the British Museum. On arrival, we discovered that one of the exhibitions was about the Celts, and so we decided to do this one.

On passing the museum shop, we did notice that on sale were various items with The Druids: Bringing in the Mistletoe on. Surely it couldn’t be? We entered the exhibition and I have to say it is definitely the greatest display of Celtic relics and artwork I have ever seen, including the Desborough Mirror, the incredible design of which is analysed and written about by John Briggs and F. David Peat in their book Turbulent Mirror: An Illustrated Guide to Chaos Theory and the Science of Wholeness.

If you are wondering where my photos are, photography was not allowed.

As we gradually made our way around the exhibition, seeing incredible artefacts such as a magical couldron, jewellery, arms, crosses, clothes, pottery – all with incredibly intricate Celtic designs, in the corner of my eye I caught sight of the painting I so longed to see. It was there, on the wall, in all its glory – The Druids – Bringing in the Mistletoe.

The Druids Bringing in the Mistletoe

Photo: Simon Robinson

As I mentioned, photography was not allowed, so this is a photo I took of the painting last year at The Kelvingrove, its permanent home. Was an amazing experience to discover this painting once more, and what a chance encounter it was, totally unexpected. This painting really speaks to me, so perhaps we heard it calling to us so we could admire it once more surrounded by so much Celtic art which inspired its creators.

Related Articles

Anatomy of a painting – The Druids – Bringing in the Mistletoe

One response to “A Spectacular Surprise in London

  1. Pingback: The Quest for Beauty – Introduction | Transition Consciousness·

Leave a Reply

