The Dynamics of Being

In my copy of the Tao Te Ching, it begins as follows:

Tao k’o tao fei ch’ang tao
TAO called TAO is not TAO.

This is huge and my study of the Tao Te Ching has not made it past this first meditation. For me this is an amazing statement, and I interpret it to mean that if you attempt to put into the form of words the Tao, you have lost the Tao.

So in this spirit, I offer you a slide I have been contemplating. I will not offer any definitions, but these seem to be some of the key words which are acting as a gateway to my own transition of consciousness.

The Dynamics of Being

Burton Watson says that the aim of the text of the Tao Te Ching

is to impart to the reader, through hints, symbols, and paradoxical utterances, such an intuitive grasp of the tao and the vital ability to move with it rather than counter to it.

I invite you to move through the symbol and play with the words as you may wish.

Leave a Reply

